MGMT live in KL

I first heard that MGMT was coming down to KL about a month before but it didn’t strike me that they were coming HERE HERE till about a week before cause I hadn’t even gotten tickets yet! Frantically I asked around and someone knew someone who had tickets and I secured my tickets 5 days before the concert. Talk about last minute!! I blame the Malaysian side of me lol 😛

Anyway XY and Jace were also going to the concert (hurray for Twitter and cross conversation!) so I hitched a ride from them.

When we arrived there I bumped into Luna, a primary school friend who I hadn’t seen in ages but is quite close and dear to my heart. It was really nice to catch up with her (I promise girl, drinks soon!).

Well just as I had expected, the show was starting late and at 9pm door were still closed!

20110405-103721.jpg
So I took the opportunity to take this photo outside the venue.

20110405-103859.jpg
Waiting patiently for the concert to start.

20110405-103929.jpg
Kyoto Protocol, the opening act rocking out the house. They’re aren’t bad at all for a local homegrown band. I first saw them at Urbanscapes 2010 – my pal CH was their temporary guitarist during the summer and I bumped into him during the event. He told me to stick around for this band and I did. They really aren’t bad at all.

20110405-103942.jpg
And there was MORE waiting so we decided to snap a pic cause we were bored.

After a 1 1/2 hour delay, they finally got on stage. It was time to rock on!

20110405-104032.jpg

20110405-104102.jpg

20110405-104116.jpg
Love the fact that the background video was so trippy, just like all their music videos! They had a really good mix of their old and new stuff but the crowd only rocked during stuff from ‘Oracular Spectacular’ (and they call themselves fans! Congratulations needs way more love!). I like the fact that they ended the night with ‘Congratulations’.

20110405-104124.jpg

20110405-104133.jpg
Congratulations…. Then it was encore time. And that was pretty much it.
What a lovely night with XY, Jace and MGMT. 🙂

20110405-104143.jpg
A parting shot at concert end ‘red between the lines’.

Leave a Reply

