On a BJJ hiatus


So I’ve been on a hiatus from BJJ and any form of exercise since my sprained ankle. It’s been a real bumpy ride 😦 On the day itself I couldn’t walk much (had to use F as a crutch!) and the day after it was swollen and tender to the touch. I think it was only 3 days after the incident that I could walk around without help… Eek.

Just to give an update, there’s some good news and some bad news…. I’ll start with the good news, which is that the ankle is not too badly sprained. My best friend has some knowledge as a ‘tukung urut’ (traditional massage therapist) cause she grew up in the border town of Kota Bharu (the border in between Malaysia and Thailand). She’s really good and has been massaging me and my friends for ages, so she’s been regularly massaging my ankle with some traditional remedies (i.e. Minyak Gamat, a traditional oil made out of sea cucumbers. Weird stuff but apparently it’s very good for cuts, injuries and bruises). Anyway, her diagnosis is that the ankle isn’t too badly sprained.

But yeah well that’s the good news, the bad news is that the injury is mostly due to ‘bone bruise’. The bone in question that is bruised is the lower foot bone. It’s still swollen and tender to the touch, a week after the accident. I’ve read up on bone bruises and honestly, mine isn’t too bad but the worse thing is that, they take FOREVER to heal. 😦 And they are fragile little injuries, reinjury will just cause healing process to restart. Here’s a good visual picture to what the heck a bone bruise is:

So yeah, I think another week of rest will do my foot some good. 8 days after the injury it still hurts a little to walk and excessive walking usually leaves my foot really sore. F and I were practicing some moves we had seen from a tutorial but ummmmm no, the foot doesn’t like it and I was in pain most of the time. So for now it’s lots of ice, lots of rest, lots of massaging and lots of restlessness. 😦

I’m really hoping this heals up quickly as I’m competing in June for the Pan-Asians in Manila. The tickets were purchased way ahead of time so there’s no turning back. I’m almost gonna write the Pan-Asians off as a lost tournament but Coach always says that it’s a mental game, if you’re defeated in the mind before the match than you’ve all ready lost. So I’m keeping my hopes up and I’m gonna try to train my butt off (or as much as I can without reinjuring my foot) when I get back to the mats. Then again time will tell how hard I can train given the nature of the injury. I suppose I should compete, any tournament experience is a good one but it’s soooooooooooooooo bummy knowing that you didn’t train your full best. But oh well c’est la vie right?

On the flipside, not exercising after work or running off to class has allowed me to catch up with my friends and also snuggle up to my Nintendo DS. Ahhhhh video games, the hobby I was into before BJJ. Do I miss it? Kinda, but I think I miss exercising and BJJ more. 🙂

2 responses »

    • I hope I get better soon!!!!!!!! Competing in the June tourney without training sucks! 😦 I’m hoping to hit the mats tonight after 1 1/2 weeks of no exercise and total rest (time to lose those gained pounds!)

Leave a Reply

